Back for More

Back for More

Back for More

The band’s come-back album, released in 1989 (after seven years apart) consists of mainly original material, together with the Willie Dixon classic 'Down In The Bottom' and Gil Scott-Heron’s ‘Blue Collar’ the notable exceptions. Line-up – back then, as it still is today - comprises Paul Jones (lead vocals & harmonica), Dave Kelly (lead vocals & slide guitar), Tom McGuinness (guitars), Gary Fletcher (bass) and Rob Townsend (drums). Guests include the legendary Memphis Horns and tenor saxophonist Plas Johnson. The band is also augmented by the Kokomo Singers. Two songs, Gil Scott-Heron’s 'Blue Collar' (also a single) and the Dave Kelly-sung 'I Can't Get My Ass In Gear' – are highlights of the band’s current set. ‘Jump Up And Shout’from the same session is added as a bonus track. Expertly remastered by Jon Astley (who has worked on recordings by the Who, Led Zeppelin, George Harrison and many others). Booklet with detailed liner notes. Includes new quotes from the Blues Band members.


1. Normal Service
2. Victim Of Love
3. Not Me
4. Blue Collar
5. Can’t Get My Ass In Gear
6. The Great Crash
7. When I Itches I Scratch
8. Don’t Buy The Potion
9. Bad Boy
10. Down In The Bottom
11. Leaving
Tracks 1-11 originally released as (Germany) Ariola 210095, p.1989
Bonus Tracks:
12. Jump Up And Shout
Track 12 first released on ‘The Blues Band Box’ (UK) BGO Records BGOBBCD 1, p.2005

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REPUK 1251
  • Format: CD (Digipak)

Purchase Links

Artist Links