Live at Rockpalast

Live at Rockpalast

Live at Rockpalast

Rockpalast (‘Rock Palace’) is a legendary ‘live’ music TV show, hosted in Germany by the WDR channel. It first broadcast in 1974 and has become a pan-European television institution. It has its own fan club and online forum, and over nearly four decades, it has become a trademark of quality viewing and listening.

Performance date: Grugahalle, Essen, 15.09.1978.

One of three acts (with Peter Gabriel and Paul Butterfield) on Rockpalast’s Third Rocknacht (‘Rock Night’) on 15th September 1978 at the 10,000-capacity Grugahalle in Essen, recorded on the night of the famous Ali-Spinks Heavyweight Boxing match.

Features legendary guitarist Alvin Lee in his only Rockpalast appearance, with backing musicians Tom Compton (drums) and Mick Hawksworth (bass).

Full 10-song set includes the Ten Years After Woodstock classic ‘I’m Going Home’. Includes bonus unbroadcast tracks ‘Sweet Little Sixteen’ and 'Roll Over Beethoven'

Alvin Lee post-show comment: “The best TV show I ever appeared in.”

Informative booklet with twin liner notes - in English by Michael Heatley (Record Collector / Guitar & Bass) and in German by journalist and broadcaster Uli Kneip.

Expertly restored and remastered. Superb vision, outstanding sound. The best in the business!


DVD (concert footage)

01. Intro
02. Gonna Turn You On
03. Help Me
04. Ain’t Nothing Shakin’
05. Bass Boogie
06. Hey Joe
07. I’m Going Home
08. Choo Choo Mama
09. Rip It Up
10. Sweet Little Sixteen
11. Roll Over Beethoven

REGION FREE NTSC. Audio selection of Stereo and 5.1 Surround Sound

CD (soundtrack of the film)

01. Gonna Turn You On
02. Help Me
03. Ain’t Nothing Shakin’
04. Bass Boogie
05. Hey Joe
06. I’m Going Home
07. Choo Choo Mama
08. Rip It Up
09. Sweet Little Sixteen
10. Roll Over Beethoven

Soundtrack in Remastered Stereo

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REP 5285
  • Format: DVD + CD (Brilliant Box + Slipcase)

Purchase Links

Artist Links


Movie Clip