Compendium (1987-2013)

Compendium (1987-2013)

Compendium (1987-2013)

“I’m happy in what I’m doing, because I’m making the music I want to make, and that’s where all the satisfaction really comes from.” (Robin Trower, 2013)

Robin Trower may seem a modest and quiet man, but his achievements are great. Over the decades since he formed his own band back in 1973, he has conceived many fine solo albums that showcase his exceptional talents as a guitarist, singer and composer.

Here’s a truly outstanding new collection of some of the finest recordings by one of rock’s most admired guitar heroes. This double CD set comprises 35 tracks gathered from a range of original recordings released between 1987-2013, now all together for the first time on one album. Our compilation runs from his first studio album after leaving Chrysalis Records, 1987’s ‘Passion’, to the latest highly regarded ‘Roots And Branches’, an album of covers and retro-inspired originals that pays homage to Trower’s blues roots.

The track listing is the most comprehensive yet offered by any label. It was selected in collaboration with Robin himself to perfectly represent the second half of his stellar career, that still continues both ‘live’ and on record. Like all the great bluesmen, Trower gets better with age!

Some tracks included here are hard or impossible to find, due to label changes in Robin’s latter career. The 35 tracks represented give a fully detailed picture of his development as a guitarist and musician over the past 26 years. And there’s more to come…

A very high standard of musicianship is maintained throughout and, above it all, soars Trower’s magically emotive guitar playing that has remained on top form for more than 5 decades.

Booklet with authoritative and extensive liner notes written by respected author and journalist Michael Heatley (‘Record Collector’ and ‘Guitar & Bass’). It includes quotes from four separate interviews he has conducted over the past decade with Robin Trower.

Expertly remastered. Superb sound - top quality reproduction. The best in the business!


CD 1
01. Inside Out
02. Freefall
03. Too Much Joy
04. Seven Moons
05. The Playful Heart
06. Please Tell Me
07. The Turning
08. Tear It Up
09. Passion
10. The Last Door
11. The Thrill Is Gone
12. If Forever
13. Not Inside – Outside
14. Looking For A True Love
15. Crossroads
16. Prisoner Of Love
17. Go My Way

CD 2:
01. Dressed In Gold
02. Breathless
03. Prince Of Shattered Dreams
04. Another Time Another Place
05. 20th Century Blues
06. Living Out Of Time
07. So Far To Yesterday
08. Blue For Soul
09. Don’t Lose Faith in Tomorrow
10. Next In Line
11. Sleeping On The Moon
12. Once The Spell Is Broken
13. See My Life
14. Sea Of Love
15. Wish You Were Mine
16. Secret Place
17. Just Another Day
18. No Time

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REP 5249
  • Format: 2CD (Slipcase)

Purchase Links

Artist Links