The 12” Mixes 1979-1984

The 12” Mixes 1979-1984

  • 180g 2 LP in gatefold sleeve.
  • The collected 12” mixes from 1979 to 1984, across two LPs.
  • 13 tracks including extended versions plus disco and club mixes from Sparks’ period with acclaimed producer, Giorgio Moroder.
  • Cut for vinyl at Abbey Road Studios and pressed on heavy weight 180g transparent vinyl.
  • Also includes 12” insert with new liner notes by renown music journalist, Chris Welch.
Sparks brothers Ron and Russell Mael have endeared themselves to successive generations of fans since the early 1970s and are numbered among the most influential acts ever. Franz Ferdinand , Siouxsie Sioux, the Pet Shop Boys and many more are numbered among Sparks loyal disciples, while the group’s following is truly international. This collection of 12-inch versions of Sparks work pays homage to the extended mixes that were often created in the studio for use in discos. They found success in Europe in 1979 working with Italian-born producer Giorgio Moroder who, with Pete Bellotte, had turned US singer Donna Summer into a megastar with his hypnotically repetitive Eurodisco instrumental style. ‘Beat The Clock’ and ‘Tryouts For The Human Race’ were early results. They then moved on to register US dancefloor hits with the likes of ‘I Predict’ and ‘Cool Places’ - a collaboration with Jane Wiedlin of the Go-Gos. This unique compilation brings these mixes together on vinyl for first time, including many rare disco and club mixes that are essential listening for any Sparks or Giorgio Moroder fans. Also included in this set is a 12” insert featuring new liner notes by respected music journalist, Chris Welch.


Side A

  1. Tryouts For The Human Race – 12” A Side (USA) Extended Version
  2. Beat The Clock – 12” A Side (UK) Extended Version
  3. Young Girls – 12” A Side (UK) Disco Version

Side B

  1. I Predict – 12” A Side (France) Extended Version
  2. Modesty Plays – 12” A Side (France) Extended Version
  3. Cool Places feat. Jane Wiedlin – 12” A Side (France) Extended Version

Side C

  1. All You Ever Think About Is Sex – 12” A Side (USA) Club Version
  2. Dance Godammit – 12” B Side (USA) Club Version
  3. Pretending To Be Drunk – 12” A Side (USA) Extended Version
  4. Kiss Me Quick – 12” B Side (USA) Extended Version

Side D

  1. Progress – 12” A1 (USA) Vocal / Extended Club Mix
  2. Sparks In The Dark – 12” A2 (USA) Instrumental / Extended Club Mix
  3. With All My Might – 12” B Side (USA) Vocal / Extended Club Mix

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: V282
  • Format: 180g Transparent Vinyl LP

Purchase Links

Artist Links