Live, Rare & Raw: 1973-1979

Live, Rare & Raw: 1973-1979

Live, Rare & Raw: 1973-1979

REMASTERED 3CD SET INCLUDES SEVERAL PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED RECORDINGS 16-PAGE BOOKLET WITH DETAILED LINER NOTES A brand new compilation that charts the period when the Climax Blues band accelerated from club act to US Top 40 regulars and, finally, Top 3 hit makers with ‘Couldn’t Get it Right’. Accompanying frontman Colin Cooper (vocals, sax) and Pete Haycock (guitar, vocals), both now sadly deceased, were John Cuffley (drums) and Derek Holt (bass, vocals). The return of original member Richard Jones on keyboards midway through this gig sequence completed the classic Climax Blues Band line up. Material covers band-penned classics from ‘Sense Of Direction’ (1974), ‘Stamp Album’ (1975), ‘Gold Plated’ (1976), plus songs from then current album ‘Real To Reel’ (1979). Also included are blues standards like ‘The Seventh Son’, a long-time staple of their ‘live’ set and Wilbert Harrison’s ‘Let’s Work Together’. The Beatles ‘Get Back’ was introduced by Pete Haycock one night to lengthen a short set. “Towards the end of ‘All The Time In The World’ I started jamming the Beatles guitar solos and the other guys picked up on it. We started playing to please the crowd after that!” The three concerts, from Marquee Club London (1973), New Jersey (1974), Guildford (1976) are previously unreleased. Only 1979’s Miami show had a limited US release on Warner Bros. This an essential new set for blues aficionados and band fans alike. Booklet with authoritative and extensive liner notes includes quotes from Climax Blues Band’s Derek Holt and the late Pete Haycock.


CD 1:
Live at the Marquee Club, London, UK, 1973
1. All The Time In The World
2. I Am Constant
3. Seventh Son
4. Mesopopmania
5. So Many Roads
6. Shake Your Love/That’s All
Live in New Jersey, USA, 1974
7. All The Time In The World
8. Seventh Son
CD 2:
Live in New Jersey, USA, 1974
1. Flight
2. So Many Roads
3. Country Hat
4. Shake Your Love
5. Going To New York
6. Let’s Work Together
7. One More Time – Stormy Monday
Live in Guildford, UK, 1976
8. Together And Free
9. Amerita / Sense Of Direction
CD 3:
Live in Guildford, UK, 1976
1. Chasing Change
2. Using The Power
3. Couldn’t Get It Right
4. Going To New York
5. All The Time In The World
6. Get Back
Live From Miami, UK, 1979
7. Money In Your Pocket
8. Summer Rain
9. Amerita/Sense Of Direction
10. Evil
11. Fallen In Love (For The Very Last Time)
12. Seventh Son / Got My Mojo Working
13. Whatcha Feel
14. All The Time In The World / Get Back

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REPUK 1243
  • Format: 3CD (Jewel & Slipcase)

Purchase Links

Artist Links