Live At The BBC

Live At The BBC

Live At The BBC

2CD set. 43 restored and remastered tracks from the 1965-68 era – with Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page in the various Yardbirds line-ups. Rare BBC archive recordings – Top Gear and John Peel the complete last 1968 BBC sessions, including Dazed and Confused and White Summer Over 1½ hours of music. Introduction by Yardbirds Jim McCarty with quotes from Paul Samwell-Smith in the authoritative liner notes. A comprehensive collection of the Yardbirds BBC ‘live’ recordings, assembled with the assistance of the BBC, with several tracks now all together the first time on this newly restored and remastered 2CD set. Many tracks have been expertly repaired from rare, hard-to-find and archive sources and now feature for the first time on these best available recordings. Sourced from the BBC, this newly updated 43-track set covers numerous songs - including smash hits such as ‘For Your Love’, ‘Heart Full Of Soul’ and Yardbirds classic stage favourites ‘Too Much Monkey Business’, ‘Smokestack Lightning’, ‘I’m A Man’ and ‘Train Kept A-Rollin’’. Guitar legends Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page feature alongside front man Keith Relf, Paul Samwell-Smith and Jim McCarty in these sessions, recorded by the world renowned broadcasting organisation for radio transmission and our CDs explore the best available Yardbirds’ BBC Radio One output from 1965-1968. The booklet, with detailed data, includes authoritative liner notes by Richard Morton Jack, editor of ‘Flashback’ magazine, and contains new quotes from Yardbirds’ Jim McCarty and Paul Samwell-Smith.


CD 1
01 I Ain’t Got You
02 Interview: Keith Relf talks about the band’s background
03 For Your Love
04 I’m Not Talking

Tracks 1 – 4: Top Gear Recorded 22nd March, 1965 Broadcast 10th April, 1965

05 I Wish You Would
06 Interview: Paul Samwell-Smith talks about the recording and the USA tour
07 Heart Full Of Soul

Tracks 5 – 7: Saturday Club Recorded 1st June, 1965 Broadcast 5th June, 1965

08 I Ain’t Done Wrong
09 Heart Full Of Soul (Alternate version)

Tracks 8 – 9: Saturday Club Recorded 21st June, 1965 Broadcast 26th June, 1965

10 Too Much Monkey Business
11 Love Me Like I Love You
12 I’m A Man

Tracks 10 – 12: You Really Got….
(Kinksize Live Pop Package with The Kinks & other guests) Recorded 6th August, 1965
Broadcast 30th August, 1965

13 Evil Hearted You
14 Interview: Paul Samwell-Smith talks about the ‘Still I’m Sad’ single
15 Still I’m Sad
16 Hang On Sloopy

Tracks 13 – 16: Saturday Club Recorded 27th September, 1965 Broadcast 2nd October, 1965

17 Smokestack Lightning
18 Interview: The Yardbirds give their New Year’s resolutions
19 You’re A Better Man Than I
20 The Train Kept A-Rollin’
21 Smokestack Lightning (Edited version)

Tracks 17 – 21: This Must Be The Place
(with The Hollies, The Ivy League & other guests) Recorded 18th November, 1965
Broadcast 27th December, 1965

CD 2
01 Shapes Of Things
02 Dust My Broom
03 You’re A Better Man Than I

Tracks 1 – 3: Saturday Club Recorded 28th February, 1966 Broadcast 5th March, 1966

04 Baby, Scratch My Back
05 Interview: Keith Relf talks about his solo single
06 Over, Under, Sideways, Down
07 The Sun Is Shining (Edited version)
08 Interview: Keith Relf talks about their USA tour
09 Shapes Of Things (Alternate version)
10 The Sun Is Shining

Tracks 4 – 10: Saturday Swings Recorded 6th May, 1966. Broadcast 21st May, 1966

11 Over, Under, Sideways, Down (Original TV version)
12 Comment: Barry Fantoni talks about Jeff Beck’s guitar playing
Tracks 11 – 12: BBC1 ‘A Whole Scene Going’ Broadcast 18th June,1966
13 Most Likely You Go Your Way (And I’ll Go Mine)
14 Little Games
15 Drinking Muddy Water

Tracks 13 – 15: Saturday Club Recorded 4th April, 1967 Broadcast 15th April, 1967

16 Think About It
17 Interview: Jimmy Page talks about touring
18 Goodnight Sweet Josephine
19 My Baby

Tracks 16 – 19: Saturday Club Recorded 15th March, 1968 Broadcast 16th March, 1968

20 Think About It (Alternate Take)
21 White Summer (Instrumental)
22 Dazed And Confused
All tracks recorded in mono

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REPUK1309
  • Format: 2CD (Brilliant Box + Slipcase)

Purchase Links

Artist Links