Butt Rockin'

Butt Rockin'

Butt Rockin'

For their third album in 1981 the Fabulous Thunderbirds added the Roomful Of Blues horn section. It was cut at the Crystal Studios, Hollywood (a change from previous practice of recording in Texas). Frontman Kim Wilson wrote/co-wrote seven of the 11 cuts, another change of musical tactics. The opening track ‘I Believe I’m In Love’, has since become associated with his friend Bonnie Raitt. Standout covers include ‘Roll, Roll, Roll’ - a 1958 release by Guitar Junior, and ‘Cherry Pink And Apple Blossom White’ - a trumpet hit for Perez Prado in 1955, now played by harmonica. Six bonus tracks, selected from the album ‘Different Tacos’, are included on this set. Booklet with authoritative and extensive liner notes written by respected ‘Record Collector’/’Guitar & Bass’ journalist Michael Heatley.

Expertly remastered by Jon Astley (who has worked on recordings by the Who, Led Zeppelin, George Harrison and many others).


1. I Believe I’m In Love
2. One’s Too Many
3. Give Me All Your Lovin’
4. Roll, Roll, Roll
5. Cherry Pink And Apple Blossom White
6. I Hear You Knocking
7. Tip On In
8. I’m Sorry
9. Mathilda
10. Tell Me Why
11. In Orbit
Originally released as (USA/UK) CHR 1319 by Chrysalis Records, p.1981

12. Things I Forgot To Do
13. Found A New Love
14. I Got Eyes
15. Someday You’ll Want Me
16. I Hear You Knockin’ (Live)
17. Mathilda (Live)

Tracks 12 – 17 originally released on the album ‘Different Tacos’ (USA) CTM-1006 Country Town Music, p.1996

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REPUK 1196
  • Format: CD (Digipak)

Purchase Links

Artist Links