When the finest young jazz musicians in the UK teamed up to form a dynamic fusion outfit, the result was If, one of the most challenging and exciting bands of the Seventies. The group was fronted by J.W.Hodkinson, a powerful singer, backed by superb musicians Dick Morrissey (tenor sax and flute and Terry Smith (lead guitar). With a strong rhythm section the seven piece was hailed as worthy competitors to such American pace setters as Chicago and Blood, Sweat & Tears. ‘If’ was the band’s debut album, produced by Lew Futterman and released in 1970 in a distinctive silver sleeve. This CD re-issue features seven driving tracks including such intriguing arrangements as ‘I’m Reaching Out On All Sides’, ‘What Can A Friend Say’ and ‘Raise The Level Of Your Conscious Mind’.


01. I’m Reaching Out On All Sides
02. What Did I Say About The Box Jack ?
03. What Can A Friend Say?
04. Woman, Can You See (What This Thing Is All About?)
05. Raise The Level Of Your Conscious Mind
06. Dockland
07. The Promised Land

Bonus tracks
08. Raise The Level Of Your Conscious Mind (Single version)
09. I’m Reaching Out On All Sides (Single version)

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REPUK1037
  • Format: CD (Digisleeve)

Purchase Links

Artist Links