Steamhammer was one of the best ‘Blues Boom’ bands of the ‘60s, and here are 10 cuts of blues-based rock at its raunchy best by a British group that proved popular - especially in Germany - during the late Sixties. Formed in 1969, the original line up included Martin Pugh (lead guitar), Kieran White (vocals), Martin Quittenton (rhythm guitar), Steve Davey (bass) and Michael Rushton (drums). They quickly proved their strength when they backed visiting blues legend Freddie King during a UK tour. Offered a contract with CBS on the strength of their ‘live’ performance, they became a hugely popular ‘live’ band and went on to cut a series of steaming albums, including ‘Mk II’. This album was released in 1969 and features newcomers Steve Jollife on flute and saxophone, and drummer Mick Bradley.


01 Supposed To Be Free
02 Johnny Carl Morton
03 Sunset Chase
04 Contemporary Chick Con Song
05 Turn Around
06 6/8 For Amiran
01 Passing Through
02 Down Along The Grove
03 Another Travelling Tune
04 Fran And Dee Take A Ride

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: V250
  • Format: 180g Vinyl LP

Purchase Links

Artist Links