Big Time Operator

Big Time Operator

Big Time Operator

  • Now this is the one to own!
  • Limited edition 2000 copies, signed by Zoot Money
  • The one you should add to your collection
  • Book-sized CD package. 54 page book including photos sourced from the legendary Jeremy Fletcher archive.
  • Essay written by Chris Welch with foreword by Zoot Money and Andy Summers
  • All tracks remastered by Jon Astley and Eroc
Zoot Money’s Big Roll Band was one of the most popular and entertaining groups of the British R&B boom era. A charismatic personality, soulful singer and cool Hammond organist, Zoot was much loved by the Mods who flocked to his shows at London’s ‘In’ clubs like The Flamingo. The Beatles and Rolling Stones were among his greatest fans. The Big Roll Band boasted an array of top class musicians, including guitarist Andy Summers, later to find fame with The Police, saxophonists Johnny Almond and Nick Newall, singer/bass player Paul Williams and drummer Colin Allen. This essential 4 CD box set collection captures the band playing soul, jazz and R&B hits on stage and in the studio with energy, drive and humour. We hear them storm through dozens of songs, including ‘Let The Good Times Roll,’ ‘It Should’ve Been Me,’ ‘Barefootin’’ and their 1965 chart hit ‘Big Time Operator.’ Rare and historic 1966 recordings of the band in action, taped at The Flamingo and Klook’s Kleek clubs, showcase Zoot’s passion for the songs of James Brown, Marvin Gaye and Ray Charles. BBC radio shows, presented by the late Brian Matthews, include interview spots with Zoot, between more swinging performances by the Big Rollers. A 4th CD version of Zoot’s superb 1965 studio album ‘It Should’ve Been Me’ has extra bonus tracks. Detailed liner notes, complete with new interviews with Zoot Money and a brilliantly written foreword by Andy Summers, reminiscing about the unique atmosphere of the Flamingo Club, help make this eagerly awaited Box Set an essential release for all lovers of Big Rollin’ R&B at its best.


CD 1 – Live At Klook’s Kleek

01 Chauffeur
02 The One And Only Man
03 I’ve Been Trying
04 Florence Of Arabia
05 Let The Good Times Roll aka Come On
06 James Brown Medley: I’ll Go Crazy • Papa’s Got A Brand New Bag • Out Of Sight • I Feel Good
07 Mashed Potatoes U.S.A.
08 Nothing Can Change This Love
09 Barefootin’
10 Good
11 Bring It On Home To Me
12 Please Stay
13 You Know You’ll Cry
14 Something Is Worrying Me
15 Stubborn Kind Of Fellow
16 The Many Faces Of Love

CD 2 – Live At The Flamingo

01 I Got You (I Feel Good)
02 Smack Dab In The Middle
03 Boot-Leg
04 Train Train
05 Ain’t That Peculiar
06 People Gonna Talk
07 It Should’ve Been Me
08 Hallelujah I Love Her So
09 Self-Discipline
10 Rock Me Baby
11 Stormy Monday Blues
12 The Uncle Willie
13 When I Met My Baby
14 Blues March
15 You Don’t Know Like I Know
16 Big Time Operator
17 Hide Nor Hair
18 Haunted House
19 La La La La La / The ‘In’ Crowd
20 Let’s Run For Cover
21 Self-Discipline
22 Big Time Operator
23 Zoot’s Sermon

CD 3 – Live at the BBC

01 Cool Jerk
02 Interview
03 Big Time Operator
04 Barefootin’
05 BBC Announcement
06 I Can’t Turn You Loose
07 Interview
08 Chauffeur
09 Picture Me Gone
10 Interview
11 Star Of The Show
12 Let The Good Times Roll
13 Interview
14 Something’s Worrying Me
15 Ain’t That Love
16 You Don’t Know Like I Know
17 Interview
18 Let’s Run For Cover
19 People Gonna Talk
20 Think
21 The Morning After
22 It’s Been Such A Long Way Home
23 You Can’t Sit Down
24 What Cha Gonna Do?
25 The Uncle Willie
26 Zoot’s Suit(e)
27 Gin House
28 Rockin’ Chair
29 Get On The Right Track Baby
30 Walking The Dog

CD 4 – It Should’ve Been Me

01 I’ll Go Crazy
02 Jump Back
03 Along Came John
04 Back Door Blues
05 It Should’ve Been Me
06 Sweet Little Rock And Roller
07 My Wife Can’t Cook
08 Rags And Old Iron
09 The Cat
10 Feelin’ Sad
11 Bright Lights, Big City
12 Fina
13 The Star Of The Show
14 The Mound Moves
15 It Should’ve Been Me (EP Version)
16 Nick Knack
17 I Really Learnt How To Cry
18 Stop The Wedding
19 Just A Passing Phase
20 What Cha Gonna Do ’Bout It
21 Coffee Song

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REP 5343
  • Format: 4 CD Box Set

Purchase Links

Artist Links