Strange Pleasure

Strange Pleasure

Strange Pleasure

Released in 1994 by CBS/Epic, this was the debut solo album from guitarist/singer Jimmie Vaughan, elder brother of the late Stevie Ray and ex-member of the Fabulous Thunderbirds. Produced by Chic guitarist Nile Rodgers (who worked with the Vaughan brothers on ‘Family Style’) and recorded in New York. Features guests Dr John, Fonzi Thornton (Chic) and Lou Ann Barton. All 11 songs are written or co-written by Jimmie, and the album was dedicated to Stevie Ray and the recently deceased blues legend Albert Collins. The album debuted at Number One on the Billboard Heatseeker Chart, and was nominated for a Grammy for ‘Best Blues Album’. Jimmie is still very active. He was nominated for ‘Best Traditional Blues Album’ at the 2011 Grammy Awards and in April 2013 will feature at Eric Clapton’s Crossroads Festival. Booklet with authoritative and extensive liner notes written by respected ‘Record Collector’ journalist Michael Heatley. Expertly remastered by Jon Astley (who has worked on recordings by the Who, Led Zeppelin, George Harrison and many others).


01. Boom-Bapa-Boom
02. Don’t Cha Know
03. Hey-Yeah
04. Flamenco Dancer
05. (Everybody Got) Sweet Soul Vibe
06. Tilt A Whirl
07. Six String Down
08. Just Like Putty
09. Two Wings
10. Love The World
11. Strange Pleasure (Modern Backporch Duende)

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REPUK 1174
  • Format: CD (Digipak)

Purchase Links

Artist Links


More Releases from Jimmie Vaughan