From Genesis to Revelation

From Genesis to Revelation

From Genesis to Revelation

It was a revelation when Genesis, the world’s most successful Prog Rock group, released their debut album. Way back in 1969, the band that launched the careers of future superstars Peter Gabriel and Phil Collins was an eager bunch of schoolboys, yearning for recognition. They came up with a concept album that has stood the test of time and has become a vital piece of rock history.

Here is the original Genesis, fronted by Gabriel, their charismatic singer and powered by the talents of keyboard supremo Tony Banks, bass player Mike Rutherford and lead guitarist Anthony Phillips. John Silver was their drummer in this pre-Collins era, and they all came together under the aegis of visionary producer Jonathan King. This CD set pays tribute to the genius of Genesis by presenting all 13 original album tracks in the Stereo version of the album. Here are the Biblically inspired songs and adventurous arrangements such as ‘Where The Sour Turns To Sweet’, ‘Fireside Song’ and ‘The Serpent’, that paved the way for the band’s own evolution. The set also contains 6 bonus items - featuring their three singles, together with the respective B-sides.

A vital addition to any serious Genesis fan’s collection, and an important introduction to the music of a group that would one day enjoy success of biblical proportions.


1. Where The Sour Turns To Sweet
2. In The Beginning
3. Fireside Song
4. The Serpent
5. Am I Very Wrong?
6. In The Wilderness
7. The Conqueror
8. In Hiding
9. One Day
10. Window
11. In Limbo
12. Silent Sun
13. A Place To Call My Own

Bonus Tracks
14. The Silent Sun
15. That’s Me
16. A Winter’s Tale
17. One Eyed Hound
18. Where The Sour Turns To Sweet
19. In Hiding

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REP5205
  • Format: CD (Digisleeve)

Purchase Links

Artist Links

More Releases from Genesis