- Why Dontcha

Why Dontcha

Why Dontcha

When great musicians collide, they produce bursts of energy and sparks of creativity. That’s what happened when three of the stars of rock teamed up to form super group West, Bruce & Laing in 1972.

These virtuoso players had already enjoyed the fruits of fame before they released their debut album ‘Why Dontcha’. Leslie West was a powerhouse guitarist who had fronted Mountain, a band that also included drummer Corky Laing. The New Yorkers had been heavily influenced by Cream in the Sixties, and so when West managed to recruit Cream’s legendary bass player Jack Bruce, it seemed like Leslie’s ‘dream band’ had come true. With Bruce singing as well, the new outfit quickly became one of the most popular touring acts of the Seventies.

This album shows a hot band blasting through a pleasing mix of blues, boogie and rock’n’roll. Among the ten original tunes are such feel-good numbers as ‘Pleasure’ and ‘Love Is Worth The Blues’. The riff-laden title track is a virtual blueprint for the future of heavy metal.

Dontcha miss this well-produced set of dynamic performances, that sounds as fresh as did yesterday.


01. Why Dontcha
02. Out In The Fields
03. The Doctor
04. Turn Me Over
05. Third Degree
06. Shake My Thing
07. While You Sleep
08. Pleasure
09. Love Is Worth The Blues
10. Pollution Woman

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REPUK1093
  • Format: CD (Digipak)

Purchase Links

Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on JPC. Buy on JPC.


© Repertoire Records