- Tommy: The Rock Opera

Tommy: The Rock Opera

Tommy: The Rock Opera

Special Slip Case Edition with 36-Page Booklet

It was an astonishingly bold concept by the producer Lou Reizner to present the Who’s rock opera ‘Tommy’ as a dramatised, all-star extravaganza. Originally released as a double LP in a slipcase with lavish, illustrations, this was the first ever ‘coffee table’ album.

And it proved a huge best seller when first released in 1971 and helped on its way by the hit single version of ‘Pinball Wizard’, sung with gusto by Rod Stewart on the album. Among the other guest performers accompanied by the mighty orchestra and choir are Pete Townshend, Sandy Denny, Richie Havens, Stevie Winwood, Roger Daltrey, John Entwistle, Maggie Bell, Ringo Starr and even movie actor Richard Harris.

This important CD re-issue serves not only as a tribute to the genius of the Who and composer Townshend, but as a memorial to Lou Reizner, a pioneer of multi-media projects, who died aged just 43 in 1977. A real collector’s item, this brings back golden memories of rock’s boldest, brashest era.


01. Overture (LSO, P Townshend)
02. It's A Boy (S Denny)
03. 1921 (G Bell Winwood M Bell Daltry)
04. Amazing Journey (P Townshend)
05. Sparks (London Symphony Orchestra)
06. Eyesight To The Blind (R Havens)
07. Christmas (S Winwood, R Daltrey)
08. Cousin Kevin (J Entwistle)
09. The Acid Queen (M Clayton)
10. Underture (London Symphony Orchestra)
11. Do You Think It's Alright? (M Bell, S Winwood)
12. Fiddle About (R Starr)
13. Pinball Wizard (R Stewart)
14. There's A Doctor I've Found (S Winwood)
15. Go To The Mirror (R Harris R Daltrey S Winwood)
16. Tommy Can You Hear Me? (M Bell)
17. Smash The Mirror (M Bell)
18. I'm Free (R Daltry)
19. Miracle Cure (Chamber Choir)
20. Sensation (R Daltry)
21. Sally Simpson (P Townshend)
22. Welcome (R Daltry)
23. Tommy's Holiday Camp (R Starr)
24. We're Not Gonna Take It (R Daltry)
25. See Me, Feel Me (Finale From We're Not Gonna Take It) (R Daltry)

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REP5128
  • Format: CD (Slipcase & Libretto)

Purchase Links

Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on JPC. Buy on JPC.


© Repertoire Records