- Lifeblood



Stretch dominated the ‘live’ club scene, before the advent of punk drained the lifeblood out of traditional British rock.

This was the band’s third album, originally released by Anchor Records in 1977. Charismatic vocalist Elmer Gantry and guitar wizard Graham ‘Kirby’ Gregory provided much of the excitement on the splendid Stretch records released in the mid-Seventies. At this stage in their career, the band had acquired sparky drummer Jeff Rich, who also played with Climax Blues Band and later joined Status Quo.

Among its ten tracks, ‘Lifeblood’ features the cleverly titled ‘You Can’t Beat Your Brain For Entertainment’ - a song which, unusually, did not actually appear on the second Stretch album of the same name!


01. End Up Crying
02. Knives In Their Backs
03. Rock 'n' Roll Hoochie-Coo
04. Right Or Wrong
05. Show Biz Blues
06. You Can't Beat Your Brain For Entertainment
07. Jonah And The Whale
08. Living On The Highway
09. Take You Down
10. Let's Spend The Night Together

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REP5084
  • Format: CD (Digisleeve)

Purchase Links

Download now on iTunes. Download now on iTunes. Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on JPC. Buy on JPC.

More Releases from Stretch


© Repertoire Records