- Spirit of John Morgan

Spirit of John Morgan

Spirit of John Morgan

John Morgan was one of the funkiest Hammond organ players on the London scene during the late Sixties. His band played regularly at such venues as the Marquee Club and this was his four piece band’s debut album. First released by Carnaby Records in 1969, the eight driving tracks feature John on organ, piano and vocals backed by Mick Walker (percussion), Don Whitaker (lead guitar) and Phil Shutt (bass). Among the standout performances is a version of the old Meade Lux Lewis classic ‘Honky Tonk Train Blues’ which typifies Morgan’s raunchy approach to the keyboard. Now resident in France, Morgan ranks alongside Georgie Fame, Brian Auger and Gary Brooker among the keyboard greats.


01. I Want You
02. Honky Tonk Train Blues
03. She's Gone
04. Orpheus And None For Ye
05. The Yodel
06. Shout For Joy
07. Ride On
08. Yorkshire Blues

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REPUK1085
  • Format: CD (Digipak)

Purchase Links

Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on JPC. Buy on JPC.


© Repertoire Records