- Real Extended - The 12 Inch Mixes (1979 - 1984)

Real Extended - The 12 Inch Mixes (1979 - 1984)

Real Extended - The 12 Inch Mixes (1979 - 1984)

Sparks – brothers Ron and Russell Mael – have endeared themselves to successive generations of fans since the early 1970s and are numbered among the most influential acts ever. Morrissey, Siouxsie Sioux, the Pet Shop Boys and many more are numbered among Sparks’ loyal disciples, while the group’s following is truly international. This collection of 12-inch versions of Sparks’ work pays homage to the extended mixes that were often contrived in the studio for use in discos. They found success in Europe in 1979 working with Italian-born producer Giorgio Moroder who, with Pete Bellotte, had turned US singer Donna Summer into a megastar with his hypnotically repetitive Eurodisco instrumental style. ‘Beat The Clock’ and ‘Tryouts For The Human Race’ were early results. They then moved on to register US dancefloor hits with the likes of ‘I Predict’ and ‘Cool Places’- a collaboration with Jane Wiedlin of the Go-Gos. This unique compilation chooses the best versions from the various labels Sparks inhabited and the countries in which they released their music between 1979 and 1984. Booklet with authoritative and extensive liner notes written by respected ‘Record Collector’ journalist Michael Heatley. Expertly remastered – superb sound - top quality reproduction. The best in the business!
Read more ►
Read less ▲


CD 1:
01. Tryouts For The Human Race (Extended Version) 12” A-side, ℗1979
02. Beat The Clock (Extended Version) 12” A-side, ℗ 1979
03. La Dolce Vita (Extended Version) 12” A-side, ℗ 1979
04. The Number One Song In Heaven (Long Version) 12” A-side, ℗1979
05. Young Girls (Disco Version) 12” A-side, ℗ 1980
06. I Predict (Club Mix) 12” A-side, ℗ 1982
07. Modesty Plays (Extended Version) 12” A-side, ℗1982
08. Cool Places feat. Jane Wiedlin (12 Inch Mix) 12” A-side, ℗1983

CD 2:
01. All You Ever Think About Is Sex (12 Inch Club Version) 12” A-side, ℗1983
02. Dance Godammit (12 Inch Club Version) 12” B-side, ℗1983
03. Progress (Vocal / Extended Club Mix) 12” A-side, track 1, ℗1984
04. Pretending To Be Drunk (Extended Version / New Mix) 12” A-side, ℗1984
05. Kiss Me Quick (Extended Version / New Mix) 12” B-side, ℗1984
06. With All My Might (Vocal / Extended Club Mix) 12” B-side, ℗1984
07. Sparks In The Dark (Instrumental/ Extended Club Mix) 12” A-side, track 2, ℗1984
08. Tryouts For The Human Race (12 Inch Short Version) 12” B-side, ℗ 1979

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REP 5277
  • Format: 2CD (Slipcase)

Purchase Links

Download now on iTunes. Download now on iTunes. Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on Google Music. Buy on Google Music. Buy on JPC. Buy on JPC.

Artist Links


More Releases from Sparks


© Repertoire Records

Artists A-Z