- Pulling Rabbits Out of A Hat

Pulling Rabbits Out of A Hat

Pulling Rabbits Out of A Hat

Conjuring fresh and original material out of thin air can be as tricky as pulling rabbits out a hat. But that’s just what Ron and Russell Mael of Sparks have been doing throughout their extraordinary career. The talented duo came to fame with ‘This Town Ain’t Big Enough For The Both Of Us’ in 1974 and went to create many more hit singles and extraordinary albums.

‘Pulling Rabbits Out Of A Hat’ is a fine example of their post-disco period, when they were moving into the realms of novelty electronica pop. And if that sounds a convoluted description of their art, that’s because Sparks have always been difficult to categorise - so why bother categorising! Just enjoy these eleven quirky and entrancing performances from a 1984 album that has Ron Mael let loose on hi-tech synthesizers and Russell singing with all his high pitched charm.

Check out ‘Pretending To Be Drunk’ and ‘Kiss Me Quick’, with lyrics devoted to the odder aspects of love relationships, and tune into the freaky instrumental track ‘Sparks In The Dark’. The CD has detailed liner notes, original artwork and is expanded with 5 bonus tracks. Our verdict?....Big hat. Bigger rabbit!!

1984 recording from a group that is difficult to musically categorise, but always remained innovative, pioneering and much admired by generations of electro-pop musicians.

This album is post-disco period Sparks, as they let loose on high tech synths and moved their quirky and entrancing songs into the electronic pop arena.

Includes 5 bonus tracks from 1984 - 5 extended versions of songs from the album.

Booklet with authoritative liner notes by respected author and journalist Chris Welch.

Expertly remastered – superb sound - top quality reproduction. The best in the business!


01. Pulling Rabbits Out Of A Hat
02. Love Scenes
03. Pretending To Be Drunk
04. Progress
05. With All My Might
06. Sparks In The Dark (Part One)
07. Everybody Move
08. A Song That Sings Itself
09. Sisters
10. Kiss Me Quick
11. Sparks In The Dark (Part Two)

Bonus tracks:
12. Sparks In The Dark (Instrumental / Extended Club Mix) A-side (USA) Atlantic 086939, P 1984
13. Pretending To Be Drunk (Extended Version / New Mix) Single A-side (USA) Atlantic PR 644, P 1984
14. Progress (Vocal / Extended Club Mix) A-side (USA) Atlantic 086939, P 1984
15. With All My Might (Vocal / Extended Club Mix) B-side (USA) Atlantic 086939, P 1984
16. Kiss Me Quick (Extended Version / New Mix) B-side, (USA) Atlantic PR 644, P 1984

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REP 5287
  • Format: CD (Digipak)

Purchase Links

Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on Amazon DE.

More Releases from Sparks


© Repertoire Records
buy cialis soft without prescription website Online canadian pharmacy approved canadian pharmacy Canada pharmacy offers - fda approved. Approved canadian pharmacy. Free shipping. website 24h online support canadian pharmacy best prices! The biggest healthcare store canadian pharmacy online canadian pharmacy - drugs without prescription click here Big mountain drugs the #1 canadian online pharmacy approved united pharmacy. Buy cheap generic drugs online. Canadian pharmacy shop. Canadian pharmacy. Reliable canadian pharmacy best offers canadian pharmacy online - no prescription canadian official drugstore cheap discount cialis Approved canadian pharmacy ::: canadian pharmacy viagra cialis levitra for sale online. Buy online. Generic & brand drugs online absolute anonymity & fast delivery cheapest drugs online buy cheap viagra now