- A Song for All Seasons

A Song for All Seasons

A Song for All Seasons

It was the dream of many young groups during the golden age of rock to record and even tour with a full orchestra. The Beatles and their use of strings had inspired many rockers to experiment with the classics, notably Deep Purple, Yes and ELP. But one of the most musically successful collaborations featured Renaissance. The British group was thrilled to be able to record this album with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in 1978, and the results delighted fans around the world.

The album showcases their major work ‘A Song For All Seasons’ that epitomises their love of structured, melodic composition. But the eight tracks on this richly entertaining CD also include much shorter, more compact items, such as ‘Opening Out’, ‘Closer Than Yesterday’ and ‘Kindness (At The End)’. A particular highlight is the inclusion of the band’s best known single tracks, ‘Northern Lights’ - a Top Ten smash hit in 1978.

‘A Song For All Seasons’ boasts the regular Renaissance line up of Annie Haslam (vocals), Jon Camp (bass), Michael Dunford (guitars), Terence Sullivan (drums) and John Tout (keyboards), who blend expertly their skills with the celebrated orchestra. The album was a Top 40 hit and now is the season to enjoy their songs, one more time.

Read more ►
Read less ▲


01. Opening Out

02. Day Of The Dreamer

03. Closer Than Yesterday

04. Kindness (At The End)

05. Back Home Once Again (Theme from the T.V. Series)

06. She Is Love

07. Northern Lights

08. A Song For All Seasons

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REPUK1146
  • Format: CD (Digisleeve)

Purchase Links

Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on JPC. Buy on JPC.

Artist Links

More Releases from Renaissance


© Repertoire Records

Artists A-Z