- Thousands On A Raft

Thousands On A Raft

Thousands On A Raft

Pete Brown, the poet and lyricist, is best known for his work as writer of Cream’s biggest hits. But he also led some exciting, challenging bands of his own, including Piblokto!, which featured top guitarist Jim Mullen backing Brown’s wild and wacky vocals.

‘Thousands On A Raft’, Piblokto’s critically acclaimed second album, was first released on the Harvest label in 1970. Pete Brown’s gritty vocals are backed by guitar virtuoso Jim Mullen who co-wrote most of the tracks. These include such evocative songs as ‘Aeroplane Head Woman’ and the prophetic ‘Got A Letter From A Computer’ - a Seventies style prediction of the computer age to come.

The CD liner notes included an interview with Pete Brown, who chronicles the history of the band, explains the origin of ‘Raft’ and gives the true meaning of Piblokto!.....all stranger than you think!

Read more ►
Read less ▲


01. Aeroplane Head Woman (06:37)
02. Station Song Platform Two (03:37)
03. Highland Song (16:59)
04. If They Could Only See Me Now ñ Parts One And Two (12:02)
05. Got A Letter From A Computer (05:45)
06. Thousands On A Raft (07:05)

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REPUK1115
  • Format: CD (Digipak)

Purchase Links

Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on JPC. Buy on JPC.

More Releases from Pete Brown


© Repertoire Records

Artists A-Z