- Merry Clayton

Merry Clayton

Merry Clayton

They call her ‘Merry’ Clayton because she was born on a merry Christmas Day.

One of the world’s finest soul singers and support artists, Ms.Clayton is renowned for her work with some of the greatest names in pop.

Early in her career she sang alongside such stellar names as Elvis Presley, Bobby Darin, Ray Charles, Joe Cocker, Neil Young and Carole King. She came to wider fame after duetting with Mick Jagger on the Rolling Stones’ ‘Gimme Shelter’ and performing ‘The Acid Queen’ on a symphonic version of The Who’s ‘Tommy’.

Merry Clayton then established herself as a major solo artist with the release of her second solo album in 1971 that followed her 1970 debut ‘Gimme Shelter’. This superb CD shows all aspects of her powerful vocal style on a selection of 11 tracks that include covers of Neil Young’s ‘Southern Man’ and Carole King’s ‘Walk On In’, ‘After All This Time’ and ‘Same Old Story’. Other compositions by Billy Preston, Leon Russell, James Taylor and Bill Withers provide festive fare on a top class album produced by Lou Adler and performed by top class session players and a full choir.


01. Southern Man (03:15)
02. Walk On It (02:44)
03. After All This Time (03:10)
04. Love Me Or Let Me Be Lonely (03:33)
05. A Song For You (04:17)
06. Sho' Nuff (02:45)
07. Steamroller (03:45)
08. Same Old Story (04:49)
09. Light On The Hill (02:40)
10. Grandma's Hands (03:28)
11. Whatever (02:41)

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REP5177
  • Format: CD (Digipak)

Purchase Links

Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on JPC. Buy on JPC.

More Releases from Merry Clayton


© Repertoire Records