- Songs from Wasties Orchard

Songs from Wasties Orchard

Songs from Wasties Orchard

Blending folk melodies with rock power, Magna Carta became one of the most respected British groups of the Seventies. Founder member and singer Chris Simpson wrote all the material for the band’s third album that was produced by Gus Dudgeon and first released on Vertigo in 1971.

Acclaimed by critics as their ‘magnum opus’, ‘Wasties’ was a best seller and remains one of Magna Carta’s best-loved works. The album has a dozen attractive songs, including the single ‘Time For The Leaving’, that encapsulates the group’s mixture of lilting rhythms, vocal harmonies and gentle acoustic guitar. Guitarist Davey Johnstone - who later worked with Elton John - contributes his own composition ‘Down Along Up’ and Rick Wakeman plays keyboards on one track.

Magna Carta continued performing into the new Millennium and says Melody Maker’s Colin Irwin: ‘They are the whole story of contemporary folk music and that is one stupendous achievement’.


01. The Bridge At Knaresborough Town
02. White Snow Dove
03. Parliament Hill
04. Wayfaring
05. Down Along Up
06. Country Jam
07. Time For The Leaving
08. Isle Of Skye
09. Sponge
10. Sunday On The River
11. Good Morning Sun
12. Home Groan

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REPUK1101
  • Format: CD (Fold-out Digisleeve)

Purchase Links

Download now on iTunes. Download now on iTunes. Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on JPC. Buy on JPC.

More Releases from Magna Carta


© Repertoire Records