- In Concert

In Concert

In Concert

A gentle potpourri of influences is brought to bear in the music of Magna Carta, now one of the longest surviving British groups born of the early Seventies. Although they eschewed the phrase ‘folk’ and claimed rock’n’roll roots, the group founded by Yorkshire born Chris Simpson was essentially acoustic in nature and melodic in style.

The trio came together in Cambridge in 1969 with Simpson, Lyell Tranter and Glen Stuart sharing the vocals and guitar work. ‘In Concert’ (1971) was their sixth album for Vertigo, and the ten tracks include versions of ‘Airport Song’ and ‘Time For Leaving’, both songs subsequently issued as singles.


01. Airport Song
02. Time For The Leaving
03. The Boatman
04. Sea And Sand
05. Banjo
06. Old John Parker
07. Seven O' Clock Midwinter
08. Country Jam
09. Ring Of Stones

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REPUK1075
  • Format: CD (Digisleeve)

Purchase Links

Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on JPC. Buy on JPC.

More Releases from Magna Carta


© Repertoire Records