- Singles As & Bs

Singles As & Bs

Singles As & Bs

The Lovin’ Spoonful were one of the best-loved American pop groups of the Sixties. They were celebrated for their brilliant songs and carefree attitude, typified by hits like ‘Do You Believe In Magic’, their debut single that soared across charts around the world. The group created a fresh new sound that blended elements of jug band, folk, blues and rock’n’roll, resulting in what the critics dubbed ‘electric good time music’.

The Spoonful provided a bright alternative to The Beatles and inspired a new wave of folk flavoured groups. Lead singer John Sebastian, who also played harmonica and autoharp, teamed up with guitarist Zal Yanovsky in New York in 1965. Over the next two years, their group enjoyed ten U.S. Top 20 hits, all written by John Sebastian. They also had at least four major hits in the UK and Germany. ‘Singles As & Bs’ presents a comprehensive retrospective of the best of The Lovin’ Spoonful’s output during their glory days.

Their producer Erik Jacobsen discusses the band’s history and music in the liner note in this exciting new Repertoire CD release. Among 32 fabulous tracks are such essential Spoonful classics as ‘Daydream’ and ‘Summer In The City’. The various B-sides and less familiar songs also provide a fascinating insight into a pre-hard rock era, when gentle romanticism and great songwriting ruled… OK.


CD 1
01. Summer In The City
02. Daydream
03. Do You Believe In Magic
04. You Didn't Have To Be So Nice
05. Did You Ever Have To Make Up Your Mind
06. Rain On The Roof
07. Nashville Cats
08. Darling Be Home Soon
09. She Is Still A Mystery
10. Six O' Clock
11. Never Going Back
12. Fishin' Blues
13. Darlin' Companion
14. Bald Headed Lena
15. On The Road Again
16. Revelation: Revolution 69

CD 2
01. My Gal
02. Butchie's Tune
03. Full Measure
04. Night Owl Blues
05. Warm Baby
06. Only Pretty What A Pity
07. You're A Big Boy Now
08. Pow
09. Run With You
10. Amazing Air
11. I Didn't Want To Have To Do It
12. Money
13. Close Your Eyes
14. Me About You
15. Lonely (Amy's Theme)
16. Forever

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REP5055
  • Format: 2CD (Digipak)

Purchase Links

Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on JPC. Buy on JPC.


© Repertoire Records