- The Sect

The Sect

The Sect

Here is the first release in a re-issues programme dedicated to the work of the U.K.’s earliest known R&B band. The Downliners Sect began life in 1962 and so pre-date The Beatles and The Stones. Founder member and singer Don Craine helped select the bonus and special bonus tracks included on this CD version of the band’s debut album, originally released on Columbia in 1964.

The songs are mainly R&B classics, the sort of tunes the band played as they toured the clubs, evoking the spirit of Chuck Berry and Jimmy Reed. Also featured are four dynamic performances from the band’s legendary ‘live’ EP that helped launch their recording career.


1. Hurt By Love
2. One Ugly Child
3. Loneley And Blue
4. Our Little Rendezvouz
5. Guitar Boogie
6. Too Much Monkey Business
7. Sect Appeal
8. Baby What's On Your Mind
9. Cops And Robbers
10. Easy Rider
11. Bloodhound
12. Bright Lights
13. I Wanna Put A Tiger In Your Tank
14. Be A Sect Maniac

Bonus tracks
15. Baby What's Wrong
16. Little Egypt
17. Find Out What's Happening
18. Insecticide
19. Cadillac (Demo Recording from 1963)
20. Roll Over Beethoven (Demo Recording from 1963)
21. Beautiful Delilah
22. Shame, Shame, Shame
23. Green Onions
24. Nursery Rhymes

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REP5035c
  • Format: CD (Digipak)

Purchase Links

Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on JPC. Buy on JPC.

More Releases from Downliners Sect


© Repertoire Records