- Airborne



When Curved Air got together in 1975 to record their uplifting album ‘Airborne’, it was the seventh version of an outfit that that had started life in 1970. And a very fine group it was too, reuniting founder members - violinist Darryl Way and singer Sonja Kristina - and introducing powerhouse new drummer Stewart Copeland.

Captivating and richly melodic, the songs on ‘Airborne’ achieve a high standard, as typified by the first track ‘Desiree’, that was also released as a single, coupled with the more raunchy ‘Kids To Blame’. Sonja Kristina sings her through this varied 1976 set, taking on board an upbeat pop-rock feel. Guitarist Mick Jacques makes his presence felt on many of the tracks, but Darryl Way’s violin is always at the fore.

On the bonus track, ‘Baby Please Don’t Go’, Curved Air unleash on a raucous R&B romp, with Stewart Copeland’s driving drums taking charge of the beat. Here is an excellent example of a long established band playing at full tilt with new blood on the tracks.

Curved Air’s chequered history is recounted in the CD liner notes, that include a new interview with Sonja, their charismatic singer/songwriter, describing the background to the album and its collection of nine original tracks.

Read more ►
Read less ▲


01. Desiree (03:14)
02. Kids To Blame (03:21)
03. Broken Lady (03:17)
04. Juno (03:24)
05. Touch Of Tequila (03:51)
06. Moonshine (11:38)
07. Heaven (Never Seemed So Far Away) (03:20)
08. Hot And Bothered (02:55)
09. Dazed (04:19)

Bonus Track
10. Baby Please Don’t Go (02:31)

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REP5248
  • Format: CD (Digisleeve)

Purchase Links

Download now on iTunes. Download now on iTunes. Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on Google Music. Buy on Google Music. Buy on JPC. Buy on JPC.

More Releases from Curved Air


© Repertoire Records

Artists A-Z