- Crazy Elephant

Crazy Elephant

Crazy Elephant

With lead vocalist Joey Levine in fine voice (he also fronted 'Bubblegum' rivals Ohio Express), Crazy Elephant became the latest hit act from America's Buddah Records in 1969 when they cut loose on the driving 'Gimme Gimme Good Lovin'', a radio programme controller's dream of a track.

They were part of the Jerry Kasenetz / Jeff Katz stable of acts and Buddah supremo Neil Bogert - later to from Casablanca - booked New York's prestigious Carnegie Hall to showcase them all in 1968. Crazy Elephant made some of their recordings in Britain at 10cc's Strawberry Studios, Manchester. Kevin Godley and Lol Crème even wrote a song for the Crazies, as well as playing on the session.

Repertoire's bumper package contains a total of 25 tracks from the Crazy Elephant archives - revolving around the act's first LP plus an additional 14 bonus tracks - and a detailed note recalling the rise and fall of the 'Bubblegum' fad, which earned Buddah an estimated $6 million dollars during its first trading year alone!

Read more ►
Read less ▲


01. Gimme Gimme Good Lovin’ (02:04)

02. Respect (07:25)
03. Pam (02:33)
04. Come To The Farm (03:16)
05. Somewhere (03:45)

06. My Baby (Honey Pie) (02:14)
07. Sunshine, Red Wine (02:30)
08. Heartless (Hertie Gertie) (03:03)
09. Love Strike (02:23)

10. Try This When You’re Ready (02:56)
11. Higher And Higher (03:37)

Bonus tracks
12. Gimme Gimme Good Lovin’ (Mono Single Version) (02:01)

13. Dark Part Of My Mind (02:53)
14. Sunshine Red Wine (Mono Single Version) (02:30)
15. Pam (Mono Single Version) (02:33)
16. Gimme Some More (02:08)
17. My Baby (Honey Pie) (Mono Single Version) (02:18)
18. There’s A Better Day A Comin’ (Na, Na, Na, Na) (03:15)
19. Space Buggy (02:25)
20. There Ain’t No Umbopo (03:05)
21. Landrover (02:37)
22. Respect Revisisted (05:00)

23. In A Castle (04:55)
24. Hips And Flips (01:55)
25. Spilf Dna Spih (01:56)

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: RES2333
  • Format: CD (Jewel Case)

Purchase Links

Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on JPC. Buy on JPC.


© Repertoire Records

Artists A-Z