- Homeage



Recorded in 1993, this was the Blues Band paying respects to the greats they idolised. Line-up – then, as it is today - is Paul Jones (lead vocals & harmonica), Dave Kelly (lead vocals & slide guitar), Tom McGuinness (guitars), Gary Fletcher (bass) and Rob Townsend (drums). The content is classic Blues and R&B, from artists ranging from Little Walter and Jimmy Reed through to Willie Dixon, and Bo Diddley to Ma Rainey. Highlights include: ‘I Go Crazy’ - the James Brown classic and the first song the Blues Band ever performed in public, ‘You Shook Me’ - later popularised by Led Zeppelin, Paul Jones solo reworking of the jazz standard ‘Work Song’ and ‘Fine Brown Frame’, with Jools Holland guesting. Long hard to obtain, due to a one-off deal with the original now defunct label. Includes bonus track from the ‘Homage’ sessions: ‘Mean Old World’. Expertly remastered by Jon Astley (who has worked on recordings by the Who, Led Zeppelin, George Harrison and many others). Booklet with detailed liner notes. Includes new quotes from the Blues Band members.
Read more ►
Read less ▲


1. Let The Good Times Roll
2. I Go Crazy
3. Temperature/Fever (Medley)
4. Rolling And Tumbling
5. C.C. Rider
6. How Can A Poor Man Stand Such Times And Live?
7. Work Song
8. Swamp (Medley)
a) Honest I Do
b) Send Me Some Lovin’
c) Rainin’ In My Heart
9. That Same Thing
10. I Ain’t Got You
11. Fine Brown Frame
12. I Can Tell
13. You Shook Me
14. Wang Dang Doodle
15. Sweet Home Chicago

Originally released as (UK) Castle Communications, ESSCD 202, p.1993

Bonus track:
16. Mean Old World

First released on ‘The Blues Band Box’(UK) BGO Records, BGOBBCD 1, p.2005

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REPUK 1253
  • Format: CD (Digipak)

Purchase Links

Download now on iTunes. Download now on iTunes. Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on Google Music. Buy on Google Music. Buy on JPC. Buy on JPC.

Artist Links


More Releases from Blues Band, The


© Repertoire Records

Artists A-Z