- In Flight

In Flight

In Flight

After the demise of the original Ten Years After in 1974, Alvin Lee was suffering from itchy fingers. The guitar legend wanted a break from his old band but soon needed to get back into action. Alvin decided to stage a special concert at London’s Rainbow Theatre backed by an all-star cast of musicians. They included Mel Collins (sax), Ian Wallace (drums), Tim Hinkley (keyboards), Alan Spenner (bass) and Neil Hubbard (guitar).

The show was recorded and ‘In Flight’, reissued on this remastered double CD set, captures that event and it is packed with high energy performances. Alvin Lee recalls that historic night in an exclusive interview for liner notes. Among the 20 original LP tracks tracks is ‘Going Through The Door’ (“My attempt at writing a George Harrison-Dylan-esque type meaningful song!” says Alvin). Another highlight is a fine treatment of the old Elvis Presley hit ‘Mystery Train’. There is plenty of rockin’ blues guitar and vocals to enjoy, as well as two bonus tracks, So, fasten your seat belt and hang on as Alvin Lee takes off with all fingers firing.

The first album since the demise of the legendary Ten Years After in 1974. A blistering ‘live’ album from the guitar ace, backed by top session musicians.

Includes 2 bonus tracks.

Booklet with authoritative and extensive liner notes (including an exclusive interview with Alvin Lee himself) written by respected author and journalist Chris Welch.

Expertly remastered by Jon Astley (who has worked on recordings by the Who, Led Zeppelin, George Harrison and many others). Superb sound – the best in the business!


01. Got To Keep Moving

02. Going Through The Door

03. Don’t Be Cruel

04. Money Honey

05. I’m Writing You A Letter

06. You Need Love Love Love

07. Freedom For The Stallion

08. Every Blues You’ve Ever Heard

09. All Life’s Trials

01. Intro
02. Let’s Get Back

03. Ride My Train

04. There’s A Feeling

05. Running Round

06. Mystery Train

07. Slow Down

08. Keep A Knocking

09. How Many Times

10. I’ve Got Eyes For You Baby

11. I’m Writing You A Letter

Bonus Tracks
12. Somebody Callin’ Me

13. Put It In A Box

Release Information

  • Catalogue Number: REP 5122
  • Format: 2CD (Digipak)

Purchase Links

Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon UK. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on Amazon DE. Buy on JPC. Buy on JPC.

More Releases from Alvin Lee


© Repertoire Records